I like my rock.. I’m keeping it.

Posted on

My friends are forever teasing me about the rock I keep my kids under… You know, the one that prevents them from getting too much from the outside world. If “The Fish” won’t play it, it can’t go on the ipod, they school at home, they are stuck watching G rated movies, PG if we have previewed it, and they don’t know who Britney Spears is. Don’t get me wrong, the kids are exposed to every day life. They hear and see things I wish they wouldn’t. I know that I cannot and should not keep them sheltered from everything.

I guess what I am looking for is some shock value. I want the lyric to a song, a word from a friend, a scene on T.V. to give them pause. It seems that the kids are constantly surrounded by grown up issues and things void of any kind of values. When they hear the word or see the picture I want it to make them think. I want it to surprise them enough that they take the time to think about what they have been exposed to and what they think about it.

It seems that the world is so focused on growing our kids up that we don’t give them the time to figure out who they are first. Alyssa is slowly entering that age where so many things can go wrong. Your body becomes this alien that has taken over. Hormones kick in and start making you cry for reasons I still can’t understand.. You notice yourself and others in ways you never had before. I remember this stage of life and just trying to find a place that I fit.

It is such a scary thing to be a parent. To watch and hope that our children have a firm foundation and take the right path. I know that anything can happen with our children. We have a lot of years in which things can go wrong. We can make all the right decisions and they can still go the wrong way. The kids have plenty of time to be exposed to the crap life can hold. For the moment at least, I want them to be children. All the teasing aside.. I like my rock. I am keeping it.

4 thoughts on “I like my rock.. I’m keeping it.

    » I like my rock.. I’m keeping it. said:
    June 28, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    […] Original post:  I like my rock.. I’m keeping it. […]

    D.S. James said:
    June 28, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    I agree with you on many parts… My philosophy is protected but prepared. With my boys being 12 and 10 we talk A LOT about what is going on in the world and the appropriate way of handle it. I do a lot of listening in the process to get a handle on their thought process. Since I can’t always protect them, the best I can do is prepare them. We discuss everything from the teen sex to the Janarlo Wilson case (since little girls are forever calling my house!). We even cover underage drinking, drugs, gangs and the like. I can’t control what they are confronted with but I can work on equipping them with a proper reaction.

    Jay was asked about joining a “crew” here in little ole Suwanee… He told them he was already in one… the James Gang and the leader (me) was crazy and would not let him out alive!

    Jennifer Biel said:
    June 29, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Shelly,
    just wanted to let you know that I have been enjoying your blog. Also I am glad that someone feels the same about protecting their children as I do. There are so many bad things out there and I want them to have a childhood and not have to worry about that yet. So go ahead and call me overprotective, it is my job after all, I’m a mom.

    Eric said:
    June 29, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Shelly,

    I came across your blog today and enjoyed it. It was the mention about the stages of life that triggered my Google alert service to send me here.

    I’m actually looking for people and writers to share their wisdom, thoughts, and experiences from their stage(s) of life. I think our readers would benefit from your perspective.

    Please reach out to me via our site if you’re interested in contributing to our project.

    Take care,

    Eric
    CEO/Founder
    Stage of Life.com

Leave a Reply

