Tastes just like chicken

Posted on Updated on

028

I hate when I punish one of the kids and find out later that my hubby completely disagrees with the choice I have already made, and it doesn’t help that I can’t stop giggling about the crime.

Today I took my crew over to a friend’s house to swim.  The kids were having a blast and quickly inserted themselves into another group of kids playing.  They were having a grand time when I see a float losing air and everyone pointing over to my son. He is sticking his head under the water to avoid eye contact so I know that he is guilty. He bit the float.  Yep, I said bit the float.(he does love fish) I can’t even begin to imagine what would cause my sweet little boy to take a chunk out of the poor fish float with his teeth. The owner of the fish even brought it over so that I could examine the teeth marks. Did I mention that while James was busy avoiding eye contact that I was feeling his pain? Mortified is the understatement of the year.

James gave me the long drawn out story about how it all happened. He and the fish owners son were both working on getting another child off the float and had both squeezed and bit the fish. He was following the lead of another child. The mother failed to see her son’s part. I decided that the only important part was the part my son played. I made James get out of the pool. He had to tell the woman he was sorry and also get her number so he could later replace said fish.

I called my hubby when I got home to tell him our fish story. He was extremely amused and felt that James had been unjustly punished. He said he was following the lead of the fish owner son’s and that it was kind of like he was told it was okay because the owner was also biting the fish. I fail to see the logic in this. Surely a 7 year old can deduce that if you bite a float it will pop. I know he guards his own floats and cannot imagine him taking a bite out of those.

My girlfriend (the one that invited us over) did call after we got home and managed to find the bright side of the story.  The kids were looking all kinds of cute playing with this fish at the pool… so I took pictures of them playing on it. I now have several photos of the fish we will be replacing.

2 thoughts on “Tastes just like chicken

    Secret Agent Mama said:
    June 29, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Everything tastes like chicken, right?

    LOL

    Secret Agent Mama said:
    June 30, 2009 at 6:22 am

    Everything tastes like chicken, right?

    LOL
    OH! You’re my new favorite blogger fyi

Leave a Reply

