Blessings

Posted on Updated on

I stumbled upon a posting on another blog I had not read in a long time. A fellow Halo mom wrote it. It caused me to stop for a moment and think back on the last few years. It was a reminder to me how great God is and how far we have truly come.

The last several years (okay, 7 to be exact) have been tough. We have struggled through unemployment, new jobs, working 3 jobs at the same time to keep us afloat, Mattie had 7 surgeries, Steve had one, cancer scares, broken bones, struggle with faith in God, and just a lot of other junk. I am the doom and gloom kind of gal. I almost always see the cruddy side of things. I have to work hard on the glass half full thing. It is a work in progress. I am so thankful to all the folks in my life that remind me to look at the other half of the glass.

In reading the blog this morning I realized that it has been over 5 years since Mattie’s spinal fusion. It is funny to me how this still feels so fresh. It is still like it happened yesterday. After I finished reading it, it struck me how easy it is to hold onto the junk in our lives. We remember and keep the bad stuff that happens and the miracles and good stuff can be so easily forgotten.

Even when I was struggling with God, he provided. We never missed a house payment even after 20 months of unemployment. Doing the math, it shouldn’t have happened. We would be at our breaking point and come home to an envelope full of money stuck to the door with a note that read “God will provide”. Two Christmas seasons we were provided with gifts from complete strangers. Our children never suffered. Steve worked several side jobs in the last few years. During one of those side jobs a man heard about Mattie and her need for hearing aids. He gave Steve a check for an unbelievable amount of money and said that it was God’s money, and that we should have it. Mattie got hearing aids. The blessings go on and on.

As I started listing out our blessing they multiplied. I could spend all afternoon writing out all the ways that we have been blessed. Our pastor spoke about David and Goliath last Sunday and he commented in the sermon how God had taken David’s stone and after David had given it everything he had, God guided the rock and empowered it.   At times I feel like I have flung the stone and feel like God has done great things with it, other times when I was at my low point in my faith I feel that he picked the stone up and threw it for me. God is good. How have you been blessed?

2 thoughts on “Blessings

    Tanja said:
    July 3, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Hi Shelly,

    my greatest blessing is my boyfriend Thorsten. Ever since I met him my life has been so much better. Another big blessing was my first job after college, because it boosted my confidence and I finally turned into a well adjusted person – because I loved what I was doing and was successfull at it. And then, of course, I have to mention my friends. There are very few of them, but I know I can rely on them and they are there for me whatever happens.

    Have a great weekend!

    Tanja

    Flash said:
    July 5, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Perfect!

Leave a Reply

