Back to the Basics……already

Posted on Updated on

shellyblogbooks

My friend Mishelle (Secret Agent Mama) came over last Tuesday to help with all of my blogging questions. After providing me with a much needed lesson on blogs, widgets, pages, feeds, etc. I  confessed how deep my obsession and lack of knowledge really is. I showed her the stack of books on blogging and search engines that I picked up from the library and had been reading.  After she composed herself and quit laughing at me she took a picture of my stash. I didn’t tell her about  the other titles hiding in my book basket.. I picked up several on writing prompts and creative writing. I even read a few on grammar. I decided that I was a lost cause when it came to grammar and spelling. I will just have to count on Steve and spell check. (try to forget the last couple of sentences when you think of me as a home schooler.) Thank God for good curriculum!

I have to confess that I have found blogging to be a lot harder than I thought it would be. I can’t tell you how many times I have started a post and then erased it. I have visited many other blogs trying to see how the rest of you do it. I worry that readers don’t care that I am having a hard time blogging, or that my son tried to eat a float. Reading another one of my blogging books today, I was reminded why I started the blog in the first place.  Figuring out who I am, having a place to sort my thoughts, sharing info about Mattie’s health, an outlet for my stress. I am taking the books back to the library. I am going to try to stop worrying what everyone thinks. I am going to get back to my goal of unraveling the mystery of me.

4 thoughts on “Back to the Basics……already

    Secret Agent Mama said:
    July 6, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    The last few sentances say it all. Blog for yourself and everything else will fall into place, my friend!

    Enjoy this. This is you and those of us that love you will always love this blog and your expression in it!

    Rachel said:
    July 6, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    LOVE the picture, Shelly (and Mishi). Shelly, write from your heart and write for yourself. I’ve been throwing around the idea for a blog. When I write, I pour so much of what’s in my head out and I can usually rest easier. It’s like free therapy!

    Good luck to you!!

    Tami said:
    July 7, 2009 at 1:19 am

    Shelly- Your doing awesome! Keep up the GREAT work!

    Tanja said:
    July 7, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    If you have the possibility to do so, take a look at the user statistics for your blog. For me it’s really rewarding to see how many people visit my blog every day – or to put it differently: to see that there are actually people out there who read my posts and that at least some of them seem to be regular visitors.

    Looking at the statistics also keeps me aware that I do not know every single reader personally. That’s why I don’t post really personal stuff. I always try to imagine how a post would read from a strangers point of view (a future employer for example, or the neighbour I like least from all the people living on our street). Just because those people don’t write comments doesn’t mean they don’t read the blog posts.

    To consider these things is actually the hardest part of writing a blog for me. I abandon about every fith topic that pops up on my mind because of these restrictions I put on myself. So if you do not just post anything that comes to mind I guess that is kind of normal.

    I like your blog entries so far and I am looking forward to more posts.

Leave a Reply

