Monday Morning Stats Week One

Posted on

I posted yesterday about my lovely cholesterol and triglyceride levels. Today marks day 1 of trying to get those numbers down. The doctor put me on Lipitor.I also want to do my part to bring things down. I am going to give the Real Age Diet a go.  I took the real age test and after entering all my info found that I wanted a retake as soon as possible.  It aged me 6.1 years. Yuck…. double yuck even!

The doc says I have mixed hyperlipidemia. (Just big words for “you can blame your parents for your sucky triglyceride and cholesterol levels”) I do have to take responsibility for part of the problem… Have you seen me eat?  Hopefully the new diet and meds will help me get those numbers down.

My weight has never been a big issue…but I am starting to feel uncomfortable in my own skin. My BMI is in the healthy range, and friends roll their eyes when I start talking about weight loss. Still, I am heavier than I have ever been in my life.  I figure you probably don’t wake up one morning and you’re fat.. something happens between skinny and fat.. I think I am in that middle land and it is time to make a choice.

My girlfriend and I are going to start on this adventure together. You can follow her journey over at Monday Morning Reality Check We will be posting each Monday with our progress. If you decide to join us on this journey send me your link.

I am not going to  post my weight. I will post a plus or minus and will update my cholesterol levels as I get those in too. Here is my starting cholesterol info. No pluses or minuses until next week.

Cholesterol 245

HDL 42

triglycerides 158

LDL 171

Ratio 5.8

Share

2 thoughts on “Monday Morning Stats Week One

    Ms Lu (with Hugs & Hope) said:
    January 26, 2010 at 12:52 am

    Glad you’re doing this with a buddy. That always helps! Wishing you all the best in this endeavor.

      shellyplus4 responded:
      January 26, 2010 at 12:56 am

      Thanks!! First day stunk…. it has to get better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

