Dinner

Posted on Updated on

I started the Real Age Diet on Monday.  I am not supposed to weigh in until Monday. (I totally cheated) I will say that I know it is working. I hope it is doing as much for my cholesterol numbers as it is for the numbers on the scale. I have struggled a bit trying to make the diet work. I am learning a whole new way of cooking and putting meals together. Tonight’s was super delicious so I thought I would share it. Here is a picture and I will post the recipe.  Enjoy!

004
I am totally not a photoprapher… so I promise it looked so much better than what I was able to capture.

APRICOT CHICKEN & GREEN BEANS WITH ALMOND SLIVERS
2 servings
What’s In It for You
(per serving)

Daily calories 407.44

Total fat (g) 23.15

Saturated fat (g) 3.13

Healthy fats (g) 18.9

Fiber (g) 4.24

Carbohydrates (g) 22.02

Sugar (g) 4.27

Protein (g) 27.72

Sodium (mg) 61

Calcium (mg) 88.97

Magnesium (mg) 74.74

Selenium (mcg) 21.17

Potassium (mg) 466.05

Chicken Ingredients:
2 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves (about 4 ounces each)
4 dried apricots, chopped
2 tablespoons white wine
2 shallots, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Green Bean Ingredients:
1 cup thin green beans
3 shallots, thinly sliced
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon wine vinegar
1 teaspoon maple syrup
1/4 cup slivered almonds
Salt and pepper (optional)

For chicken, heat oven to 375F. Place chicken in glass baking dish. Saute remaining ingredients together until tender; transfer to blender (or food processor) and puree. Spoon over chicken and bake until chicken is cooked through, 15 to 20 minutes. Meanwhile, for beans, steam or blanch beans until tender but still firm and bright green. Sauté shallots in olive oil, vinegar and maple syrup until translucent. Add almonds and brown slightly; toss with beans. Season to taste with salt and pepper if desired. Serve alongside chicken.

One thought on “Dinner

    annie said:
    January 30, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    Looks yummy

Leave a Reply

