Stats Week Four

Posted on

Another rough week… I am trying really hard not to get discouraged. I am down another pound and another half  inch off of my waist. The real disappointment is not in the numbers.. it is in my lack of will power and determination. I have still not started working out. So I know that every pound down is a mix of fat and muscle.

I am really starting to get all of the food stuff down. For the first time in my life I am really thinking about what I am putting into my body. Mind you, I am still eating a lot of crap…but when I do, I know that it’s crap.. It is exciting and frustrating all at the same time. I am still shocked when I think about how many salads that I ate in the past thinking they were good for me and then figuring out I might as well have eaten a brownie. (Think about all those lost brownies.. I think I need a moment.)

Yesterday Steve helped me make two big batches of soup. I made the Quick Black Bean Soup. Steve made a pot of the Curried Split Pea Soup. I put all of the soup in single serving containers and then froze most of it. I can have a quick salad and a container of soup for lunch. I also found some great salad dressing this weekend. The calorie count makes up for the minor loss in taste. A little bit of pepper and a lot of veggies and it was actually pretty good.

I finished up my first bottle of Lipitor and will be picking up prescription #2 tonight. I really wish I had held off on the meds so that I could really see what my change in eating habits has done to the numbers.  Hopefully my numbers will be low enough at my 3 month check up that I will be able to give it a go without the meds.

If you have an awesome low-fat meal your family enjoys shoot me an email or link it here. I would love to start adding some variety to our dinners.

Share

3 thoughts on “Stats Week Four

    Angie Hipps said:
    February 22, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    You’ll have to explain how a salad is as “bad” as a brownie. Is it the salad dressing?

      shellyplus4 responded:
      February 22, 2010 at 3:11 pm

      Here are a few examples:

      Chili’s Southwestern Cobb Salad
      970 calories

      Pizzaria Uno’s Chicken Waldorf Salad
      920 calories / 62 grams of fat

      Arby’s Santa Fe Salad
      844 calories / 55 grams of fat

      T.G.I. Friday’s Pecan-Crusted Chicken Salad
      750 calories / 50 grams of fat

      Cosi’s Signature Salad
      683 calories / 52 grams of fat

      Dairy Queen’s Grilled Chicken Caesar Salad
      680 calories / 48 grams of fat

      Ruby Tuesday’s Grilled Salmon Salad
      590 calories /35 grams of fat

      Wendy’s Mandarin Chicken Salad
      520 calories / 25 grams of fat

      Source: AOL

      shellyplus4 responded:
      February 22, 2010 at 8:35 pm

      I entered in the totals on sparks people to get the run down on the salads I used to eat. I put in the following and came up with 436 calories.

      2 cus iceberg
      3 tbs shredded cheddar
      1 egg
      3 TBS kraft ranch
      1 serving whole wheat croutons
      few slices of cucumber and carrots

Leave a Reply

