New Shoes

Posted on

Mattie got new orthotics yesterday. She has been about as happy about wearing them as any one would be. She didn’t seem overly upset, and liked the butterfly print she picked out….. Until today… Today we went to Target to look for new shoes. While shopping I noticed how aware Mattie was of the shoes the other young girls were picking out. The young lady that commented that the “sneakers with the butterflies on them are for babies” took a small piece of Mattie’s soul. My children are not materialistic,they are not brand savvy, they don’t care how much something costs, but it seems that blending in has become super important.  It is so hard to watch them care so much what other people think, but also makes me so aware of how often I do the same.

In the end she found a cute pair of purple Chucks that look great with her butterfly braces.  Pray for me next week when we try to find a cute pair of dress shoes.  🙂

shoes

Share

3 thoughts on “New Shoes

    Joelma said:
    June 28, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    I relate to this very much, Shelly. My son, 14, often feels sad that he will never “blend in” with friends because of his skin color, his hair, or the big eyebrows we have! he, he, he I try to teach him that I love how he stands out, specially because he is kind and, well, very handsome, even wearing his cheap tees, christian tees, and clothes we buy on clearance. Our favorite brand is “clearance n’ racks” 😉

    Martha said:
    June 28, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Abbie has flip-flops with butterflies. Butterflies are for eternally youthful and pure souls. That would include babies, I guess. Maybe the young lady is scoffing another’s choice because she herself is unhappy inside feeling like she has to constantly give in to peer pressure. Be your own girl, Mattie! You’re beautiful and sweet!

    My kids aren’t so concerned with blending in yet. It is not something I’m ready for because I don’t like what the ‘big girls’ are wearing! Considering the clothes that are marketed to them (girls in particular) I would be glad for mine to keep dressing like babies for a while!

    Michelle Ratliff Lee said:
    June 29, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    I for one would LOVE to have a pair of shoes with butterflies on them. I’m not a little girl. I think they are pretty neat looking.

Leave a Reply

